Gear·Gear guide

St. Croix Rods: Every Series From Triumph to Legend Xtreme, and the Warranty

St. Croix rods from the $115 Triumph to the $775 Legend Xtreme: every series with its blank, where it is built, its warranty, and which to buy.

··12 min read

An angler's hand holding a fishing rod with a silver reel out over open lake water, the line running from the rod tip to a small float
Photo: Santeri Viinamäki, Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0)

St. Croix rods run from the $115 Triumph to the $775 Legend Xtreme, and every step up buys one of three things: a better blank, the Park Falls plant, or the 15-year warranty. For most anglers the rod to buy is a Triumph for a first good rod, or a Victory at $210–295 for the first one built in Wisconsin on the long warranty. St. Croix already sells Triumph as model year 2027, so the prices here are the October 2026 catalog’s. The picks come from St. Croix’s own specifications, its owner reviews and the magazine tests named below; none of the rods was fished for this page.

An in-warranty St. Croix that breaks for any reason, car door included, is replaced for a flat $60. You send three photos: the model, the serial number, and the rod cut in half above the handle.

Which St. Croix for your fishing?

Fishing Sensible rung The step up
Trout, panfish, ultralight Trout Series or Panfish Series Avid Series Panfish
Walleye Eyecon Avid Series Walleye
Bass, one all-round rod Triumph or Bass X Victory
Bass, a rod per technique Mojo Bass Legend Tournament Bass
Multispecies, made in the USA Premier Avid Series
Inshore redfish and seatrout Triumph Inshore Mojo Inshore
Surf Triumph Surf Seage or Avid Surf

Pick the length and power for the fishing first, then the rung. A 6 ft 9 in ultralight Panfish Series rod is a far better crappie rod than any 7 ft medium-heavy Legend. The rods hub explains power, action and length.

What does each St. Croix series cost, and where is it built?

Series List price, Oct 2026 Blank Built in Warranty
Triumph (model year 2027) $115–145 SCII + FRS Fresnillo, Mexico 5 years
Panfish Series $130–190 SCII Fresnillo 5 years
Trout Series $130–180 SCII Fresnillo 5 years
Bass X $135–165 SCII Fresnillo 5 years
Premier $145–215 SCII Park Falls, Wisconsin 5 years
Black Bass $155–195 SCIII Fresnillo 5 years
Eyecon (walleye) $155–175 SCII Fresnillo 5 years
Mojo Bass $180–205 SCIII Fresnillo 5 years
Victory $210–295 SCIII+ Park Falls 15 years
GXR Bass (rod and reel) $215–240 SCII not stated 5 years rod, 1 year reel
Avid Series Panfish $225–275 SCIII+ Park Falls 15 years
Avid Series $250–280 SCIII+ Park Falls 15 years
Legend Tournament Bass $320–370 SCIV+ Park Falls 15 years
Physyx $380–445 SCIV+ USA (Tackle Warehouse) 15 years
Legend Elite $495–585 SCV Park Falls 15 years
Legend X2 $610–645 SCVII not stated 15 years
Legend Xtreme $740–775 SCV Park Falls 15 years

Prices are St. Croix’s list prices on Oct. 17, 2026, unchanged when rechecked on Oct. 31. The plant and warranty come from St. Croix’s factory-store listings, its series announcements and, for Physyx, Tackle Warehouse’s listing. The catalog holds many more lines than these 17: inshore, surf, musky, salmon, ice and travel versions of most series, from the $55 Mojo Ice to the $775 Legend Xtreme Inshore.

Two lines in the table tell the story. Triumph’s entry price was $105 in St. Croix’s April 2025 release and is $115 in the 2027 catalog. And the warranty column almost copies the plant column: every series on a 15-year warranty in the factory listings is built in Park Falls, and the 5-year series are built in Fresnillo. Premier breaks the pattern one way, American-made on 5 years. The Seage surf series breaks it the other, built in Fresnillo on 15.

What does each step up buy?

The blank. St. Croix grades its carbon from SCII to SCVII, and the grade is printed in the series’ specifications. In St. Croix’s words, SCII is mid-modulus carbon fiber, “our most popular material”. SCIII is high-modulus, high-strain graphite. SCIII+ is “a custom blend between SCIII and SCVI”. SCIV+ is St. Croix’s lay-up of high-modulus SCIV with the super-high-modulus SCVI, and SCV adds carbon-matte scrim, “the finest blank material, exclusive to St. Croix”. The SCVII in Legend X2 adds graphene; St. Croix claims it is “almost 12% lighter and over 27% more sensitive than SCVI”. Higher modulus means a lighter, crisper blank for the same power, and a more brittle one.

FRS is the Fortified Resin System on Triumph, which St. Croix says gives “a 33% increase in strength vs. standard resins”. Two-piece Triumphs add ART and a Slim Ferrule Design, sold as “multi-piece convenience with one-piece performance”. Both are the maker’s claims.

The guides. Triumph, Victory and Avid use aluminum-oxide rings on stainless frames; Premier’s spec sheet lists the same two materials. St. Croix lists titanium frames on Mojo Bass, then moves Legend Tournament Bass to Alconite rings, Physyx to silicon carbide, Legend Elite to silicon nitride, and Legend X2 and Legend Xtreme to Torzite. The ring’s material matters more than the number of guides.

The plant and the warranty, which the next two sections cover. On the ladder they are the expensive part: Premier and Triumph share the SCII blank, and the $30 between their entry prices buys the Park Falls build.

Park Falls or Fresnillo: does it matter?

Range chart of St. Croix’s October 2026 list prices for 17 series, cheapest first: the 5-year series in gray run from the $115 Triumph to the $240 GXR Bass, and the 15-year series in blue start with the $210 Victory and climb to the $775 Legend Xtreme; Premier is marked as built in Park Falls on a 5-year warranty

The chart puts the ladder on one line. Below $210 every series is on the 5-year warranty; from Victory up every series except the GXR Bass combo is on 15, and the top of the ladder is where the price gaps widen, to more than $100 a rung.

St. Croix owns both plants and makes its own blanks, “without reliance upon anyone else’s rod blank designs, manufacturing, or employees”, in its April 2025 release. It has built rods in Fresnillo, Mexico, since 2006 and owned that plant outright since 2020. Jason Brunner, St. Croix’s director of operations, put it this way in 2021: the Fresnillo plant is “nearly identical to our Park Falls, Wisconsin factory … The layouts are the same. The equipment is the same.” The difference, he said, is “the sets of human hands”.

The plant shows up in two places a buyer can measure. One is the warranty, 5 or 15 years. The other is the label: Park Falls series say “Designed and handcrafted in Park Falls”, the Fresnillo series “designed in Park Falls and handcrafted in Fresnillo, Mexico”. St. Croix calls Triumph “the world’s best-selling North-American-made freshwater and saltwater rod series”, and Premier “the best-selling American-made rod series”. Both are the maker’s own rankings.

Will St. Croix replace a broken rod?

Yes, if it is inside its warranty period, and for any reason. Since Jan. 1, 2024, St. Croix’s Excellerator program replaces an in-warranty rod for a flat $60, which covers shipping, handling and materials. In its January 2024 notice St. Croix said the program covers an in-warranty rod “broken for any reason” and that replacements ship “brand new with a full warranty”. The same notice says a claim expires if the Guide Center is not contacted within 90 days.

The claim is three photos on St. Croix’s form: one of the rod model, one of the serial number, one of the rod cut in half above the handle. Both numbers are written on the butt section.

Drawing of the butt end of a rod with three numbered markers: 1 and 2 on the blank just above the handle, where the model and serial number are written, and 3 a dashed cut line across the blank above the handle; the legend lists the three photos St. Croix asks for and the flat $60 fee

A claim sent in with guide, reel-seat or cork damage is not processed. You throw the broken rod away; St. Croix asks you not to ship it. Trading an in-warranty rod up to a higher series costs “$30 PLUS the difference in price”, per the warranty FAQ.

Without a receipt? The Excellerator form asks for those three photos, and St. Croix tells owners to find their warranty status from the model chart and the serial number. A receipt is not among the items it lists. That is what the form asks for, not a written promise; read the service and warranty page before you cut a rod.

Out of warranty, a separate service form takes three photos: the model, the serial number and the break in the rod. St. Croix’s page asks owners to “allow at least 2 weeks” for a reply. Outside the United States and Canada, claims go through the local distributor. Questions go to the Guide Center at anglersupport@stcroixrods.com.

Ugly Stik rods carry the opposite model: ten years, defects only, with a dated receipt and a $9.95 fee.

Are St. Croix rods any good?

It depends on the series more than on the name. St. Croix publishes its owner reviews on each series page, and on Oct. 17, 2026 the averages ran from 3.1 to 4.9 out of 5:

Series Owner score Reviews
Legend X2 4.9 33
Legend Elite 4.8 63
Black Bass 4.8 42
Avid Series Panfish 4.7 45
Legend Tournament Bass 4.6 92
Avid Series 4.6 64
Mojo Bass 4.1 126
Premier 4.0 142
Seage (surf) 3.4 28
Bass X 3.1 90

The low scores have reasons on the page. The review summary for Bass X praises its action and weight, but “some users reported issues with the reel seat durability”. The Seage’s summary praises its accuracy but notes it is “criticized for being too light”. Triumph’s 2027 models had nine reviews and a 3.7 at the time, too few to read much into.

The magazine tests are kinder at the top. Outdoor Life’s Pete Robbins named the Victory VTS73MXF his best overall spinning rod. Jason Sealock of Wired2Fish calls the Avid Panfish “superbly built rods that can play down big fish on light line”, with a warning that “the tips are very soft” in a truck. Cory Schmidt of Outdoor Life fished a Legend Elite Panfish for three seasons with 1/32–1/80 oz hair jigs on 2 lb line. The best fishing rods page sets the Mojo Bass against the Dobyns, Lew’s and Daiwa rods it competes with.

Why are St. Croix rods so expensive?

They mostly are not, at the bottom. A $115 Triumph sits beside the $100 casting rods from Daiwa and Lew’s, and the $130 Panfish and Trout Series cost less than Fenwick’s $169.95 HMG Trout & Panfish. The money climbs where the table shows it: the Park Falls plant, the 15-year warranty, and the SCIV and SCV blanks of the Legend series. St. Croix also says “at least 32 sets of hands” touch each rod. A Legend Xtreme at $775 is a tournament angler’s tool, not a first bass rod. St. Croix’s factory store also sells retired models below list: on Oct. 27, 2026 a retired Triumph spinning rod was $85, against its original $115–140.

St. Croix or G. Loomis?

It depends on the budget, because the two ladders barely overlap. G. Loomis starts where St. Croix’s middle ends: on Tackle Warehouse on Oct. 31, 2026 its rods ran from $275 for the GCX to $550–605 for the GLX and $655–685 for the NRX+. All three are listed as handcrafted in Woodland, Washington, on a limited lifetime warranty. St. Croix covers the same top end with Legend Elite, X2 and Xtreme at $495–775, and adds the whole ladder below $275 that G. Loomis does not sell. So for a first good rod under $200 the question answers itself. Above $500 both brands sell rods built in the United States, and the warranty terms are worth reading side by side before you buy: St. Croix’s is a fixed 15 years with the $60 replacement fee; G. Loomis lists a limited lifetime.

Does St. Croix make saltwater rods?

Yes, and the ladder repeats itself in salt. The inshore and surf lines in St. Croix’s catalog on Oct. 31, 2026:

Inshore and surf series List price Built in Warranty
Triumph Inshore $160–180 not stated 5 years
Triumph Surf $160–240 Fresnillo 5 years
Mojo Inshore $190–245 Fresnillo 5 years
Seage (surf) $240–430 Fresnillo 15 years
Avid Series Inshore $265–345 not stated not stated
Avid Series Surf $295–475 Park Falls 15 years
Legend Tournament Inshore $355–415 Park Falls not stated
Legend Surf $560–750 Park Falls 15 years
Legend Xtreme Inshore $765–775 not stated not stated

The plant and warranty come from the factory-store listings, which do not name them for every series. The same steps apply as in freshwater. Triumph Inshore is the first rod for redfish and seatrout, and Mojo Inshore widens the choice from 11 models to 23. The Avid Surf, Legend Tournament Inshore and Legend Surf are the ones listed as Park Falls builds. St. Croix also sells regional Tidemaster lines, Gulf, Southeast, Northeast and West Coast, at $235–365; the Southeast and West Coast lines are listed on the 15-year warranty.

The picks

Triumph. The first St. Croix to buy, at $115–145, in 37 models from a 5 ft ultralight to a 7 ft 6 in medium-heavy spinning rod. A 6 ft 6 in medium is an all-round bass and walleye rod; the 5 ft 6 in ultralight is a trout stream rod. Five years, built in Fresnillo.

Premier. For the angler who wants an American-made rod at the lowest price, $145–215. The blank is the same SCII as Triumph’s and the warranty is still five years: the plant is what you pay for.

Mojo Bass. The bass angler’s technique rods, $180–205, each model named on the blank for its job: the 6 ft 8 in medium “Jerkbaits”, the 7 ft 1 in medium-heavy “All-In”, the 7 ft 4 in heavy “Slop-N-Frog”. The catfish rods page covers its Mojo Cat cousin.

Victory. The value step, $210–295: an SCIII+ blank, Park Falls, 15 years. If you will own one St. Croix for a decade, this is the one where the warranty pays for itself.

Legend Tournament Bass. The tournament rung at $320–370, with an SCIV+ blank and Alconite guides. Above it the Legend Elite, X2 and Xtreme refine the same idea up to $775.

Who makes St. Croix rods?

St. Croix Rod of Park Falls, Wisconsin, a family company. Its April 2025 release says it has been building rods in Park Falls for 77 years and has been owned by the Schluter family for 48 of them: Gordon Schluter, and today his adult children Dave, Jeff, Paul and Pam. It lists “over 800 distinct fishing rods” across its two plants. St. Croix Fly is the fly-rod business on its own site, and SEVIIN is its reel brand, sold in the GXR and Triumph combos. A Triumph spinning rod with a SEVIIN Torix 2500 reel lists at $175–180, and the GXR Bass rod-and-reel systems at $215–240.

How we chose

The ladder comes from St. Croix’s own catalog, read on Oct. 17, 2026: every series, its list price, blank and model count. The plant and warranty come from the factory-store listings and the series announcements; where neither names a plant, the table says so. The picks favor the rung where a step buys something an angler can feel or measure: a better blank, or ten more years of warranty. The owner scores are St. Croix’s own and the magazine verdicts are quoted from the tests named; no rod was cast for this page. For the Shimano and Daiwa reels that go on these rods, see Shimano reels and Daiwa reels.

Sources

  1. St. Croix Rod, catalog and list prices (October 2026)
  2. St. Croix Rod, Triumph (model year 2027, 29 spinning and 8 casting models)
  3. St. Croix Rod, Premier
  4. St. Croix Rod, Mojo Bass (technique-named models)
  5. St. Croix Rod, Victory
  6. St. Croix Rod, Legend Tournament Bass
  7. St. Croix Rod, GXR systems (five-year rod and one-year reel warranty)
  8. St. Croix Rod, GXR Bass (list prices)
  9. St. Croix Rod, Triumph Combo (Triumph rods with SEVIIN Torix reels)
  10. St. Croix Rod, Black Bass casting (SCIII blank)
  11. St. Croix Rod, Triumph materials and technologies (SCII, FRS 33%)
  12. St. Croix Rod, Avid and Victory materials (SCIII+)
  13. St. Croix Rod, Legend Xtreme materials (SCV)
  14. St. Croix Rod, Legend X2 materials (SCVII, 12% lighter and 27% more sensitive claim)
  15. St. Croix Rod, Service and Warranty (Excellerator program, $60 fee)
  16. St. Croix Rod, Out of Warranty service
  17. St. Croix Rod Factory Store, All Rods (plant and warranty per series, retired models)
  18. St. Croix warranty update, January 2024 (reprinted by BassResource)
  19. St. Croix Black Bass and Black Bass Glass announcement (BassResource)
  20. Bassmaster, Expanded St. Croix BassX series gets stronger and lighter for 2022 (June 2021; designed in Park Falls, handcrafted in Fresnillo)
  21. Tackle Warehouse, St. Croix Physyx (made in the USA, 15-year warranty)
  22. Fenwick, HMG Trout & Panfish spinning rod (list price, October 2026)
  23. Daiwa US, Tatula XT casting rods (list price, October 2026)
  24. St. Croix Rod press release, American-made for all anglers (April 2025, via Hunting Life)
  25. St. Croix Rod, Mojo Inshore, Avid Series Inshore, Legend Tournament Inshore and Legend Xtreme Inshore (list prices, October 2026)
  26. St. Croix Rod, Triumph Inshore
  27. St. Croix Rod, Avid Series Surf
  28. Tackle Warehouse, G. Loomis rods (GCX, GLX and NRX+ list prices, October 2026)
  29. Tackle Warehouse, G. Loomis GCX Drop Shot spinning rods (handcrafted in Woodland, WA; limited lifetime warranty)
  30. Tackle Warehouse, G. Loomis NRX+ Jig and Worm casting rods
  31. Wired2Fish Editors, Building Fishing Rods in North America (January 2021, Jason Brunner on the Fresnillo plant)
  32. Wired2Fish (Jason Sealock), best crappie fishing rods (Avid Panfish)
  33. Outdoor Life (Pete Robbins), the best spinning rods (Victory)
  34. Outdoor Life (Ric Burnley), the best surf fishing rods (Seage)
  35. Outdoor Life (Cory Schmidt), the best crappie rods (Legend Elite Panfish)